## **Committee on Trustees Report**

Good evening, everyone. I had hoped that we could congratulate together our new President and museum Officers, express our gratitude for the six-year service of Paul Holt, Deborah Moore, and Clinton Standart, welcome in person our distinguished new trustees, and applaud David Dangremond for his many contributions. That will happen when once again we meet in person, but today please join me in a virtual welcome and a distanced but heartfelt thank-you.

I now present to you the slate of officers, term trustees, and charter trustees for the year 2020-2021:

-Officers:

Deborah Moore, President; John Noyes, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President; Jane Rapport, 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President; Deborah Butler, Secretary; Lee Pritchard, Assistant Secretary; Andy Baxter, Treasurer; Paul Holt, Assistant Treasurer; and James W. Carey, Counsel

-New Term Trustees, for three-year terms:

Kay Clarke, Dianne Embree, Monique Foster, Jac Lahav, Diane Mallory, and Timothy McLaughlin

-Continuing term trustees, for three-year terms:

Jonathan Cohen, Richard Millard, and Barbara Smith

-New Charter Trustee, for a three-year term: David Dangremond

-Continuing Charter Trustees, also for three-year terms: Mary Ann Besier, Charles Clark, Carolyn Wakeman, and George Willauer

Two of the trustees we are nominating are well known to us. Dianne Embree and Monique Foster return to board service after completing previous six-year terms in 2019. I would now like to provide brief summaries of the exceptional qualifications of the other four prospective board members:

After a distinguished corporate career in New York, Boston, and Hartford, Kay Clarke, who lives in Old Lyme, received a BFA in painting from the Lyme Academy of Art and an MFA from the Massachusetts College of Art. She has exhibited widely in local

galleries in CT and MA, has extensive non-profit board experience, and is a donor to the Museum's collection

Jac Lahav exhibited the remarkable portrait series *Great Americans* at the Museum to widespread acclaim in spring 2019. Highly respected in the New York art world, Jac lives in Lyme with his young family and brings wide connections and creative ideas to the Museum board.

Diane Mallory moved to Old Lyme from Greenwich a decade ago and has served on the Executive Committee of the Lyman-Allyn Museum, as President of SeCoast during its fight to block the FRA's proposed bypass through Old Lyme, and as a board member of Lyme Youth Services Bureau. She remains actively involved in the community as a member of Old Lyme's Historic District Commission and an Executive Committee member of Musical Masterworks.

Dr. Timothy McLaughlin, who lives in Farmington, is a retired orthopedic surgeon and a distinguished collector of American art. He is a former trustee of the Wadsworth Atheneum and a former president of the New Britain Museum, which published a catalog of his art collection, titled *American Reflections*, in 2010.

May I have a motion to approve the proposed slate.

May I have a second.

All in favor.

All opposed.

The 2020 slate for the Florence Griswold Museum is approved.

I now have the pleasure of honoring our outgoing President, David Dangremond. You will remember that two years ago when Jeff Andersen completed his service as director, the board voted to give him the honorary title *Director Emeritus* in grateful recognition of his long and distinguished service to the Museum. In that same spirit, the Committee on Trustees recommended, and the Board of Trustees approved, by a unanimous vote, that the board give the honorary title of *President Emeritus* to David Dangremond, in grateful recognition of his own long and distinguished service to the Museum over 33 years.

David has brought a wealth of knowledge and experience to his service here. He is a retired professor of Art History at Trinity College; former director of the Webb-Deane-Stevens Museum in Wethersfield and the Bennington Museum in Vermont; and past president of the Wadsworth Atheneum, where he oversaw a \$40 million renovation of America's oldest public museum and was awarded the prestigious Goodwin Medal for extraordinary service. At the Flo Gris, David has served most recently as President and before that as vice-president from 1992-2018. He has been a trustee since 1987, and during that period chaired the Collections Committee for 25 years and served on the Planning Committee for 30 years. He also chaired our previous Master-Planning Task Force and co-chaired our last, very successful Capital Campaign, which raised \$18.5 million for land acquisition, gallery construction, and restoration of the Griswold House, and which substantially increased the Museum's endowment. We are extraordinarily grateful for the Dangremonds' generosity to the Museum over three decades. We are reminded of that spirit of giving when we gather in the David & Mary Dangremond room and when we acquire a new work of art for our collection thanks to the endowment fund that David created. We look forward to his continuing contributions to the Museum in the years ahead.

And now it is my great pleasure to welcome the new President of the Florence Griswold Museum, Deborah Moore, to offer some concluding remarks.

## **Report of the Committee on Trustees**

The following is the proposed slate of Officers and Trustees of the Florence Griswold Museum for election at the Annual Meeting on June 5, 2020.

Officers (for one-year terms) Deborah Moore, President John Noyes, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President Jane Rapport, 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President Deborah Butler, Secretary Lee Pritchard, Assistant Secretary Andy Baxter, Treasurer Paul Holt, Assistant Treasurer James W. Carey, Counsel

Term Trustees (for three-year terms from 2020-2023) First term: Kay Clarke Dianne Embree Monique Foster Jac Lahav Diane Mallory Timothy McLaughlin Second term: Jonathan Cohen Richard Millard Barbara Smith

New Charter Trustee: (for three-year term from 2020-2023) David W. Dangremond

Continuing Charter Trustees: (for three-year terms from 2020-2023) Mary Ann Besier Charles Clark Carolyn Wakeman George Willauer

Respectfully submitted, Carolyn Wakeman, Chair Mary Ann Besier Deborah Butler Jeffrey Cooley Paul Holt Barbara Smith Robert Webster George Willauer